A.O.C.S. Commentary

OUR HONORARY MEMBERS

H ONORARY membership in the American Oil Chemists' Society has always been a special distinction, restricted to a few individuals and reflecting a universal admiration for the achievements and abilities of the man. Since the Society was founded in 1910, there have been only nine honorary members from among our thousands of members. The records show that the first two were named in the proceedings for the annual meeting in New Orleans, May 1918—48



R. T. Milner

out of 129 members present. These were I. G. Priest (d. 1932) and H. S. Bailey. In 1920 G. S. Jamieson was elected, and in 1921 C. L. Alsberg (d. 1940) and W. W. Stockberger (d. 1944). After the 1925 election of C. A. Browne (d. 1947) there was a long wait until 1945 when Johnny Helm was chosen. The last two selections came in 1947 when Felix Paquin and John Vollertsen were added to the list. These last three are still active in current Society affairs and well known to us. It is a tribute to the men and to the organization that we can still retain the interest of a charter member and the first president, a former president and head of the important Uniform Methods Committee for 27 years, and finally the former secretary-treasurer who for 20 years, almost alone, handled all of the Society's business.

Dr. Jamieson is the dean of scientific American oil chemists. An early contributor to our Journal and a member of the editorial board from its founding until 1948, he has been less active at meetings since retirement from the U. S. Department of Agriculture in 1947. His classic monograph, "Oils, Fats and Waxes," was the leading publication in English in this field for many years.

Mr. Bailey, when elected to honorary membership, was in the Bureau of Chemistry of the U. S. Department of Agriculture. After a year at Du Pont he became chief chemist of the Southern Cotton Oil Company

at Savannah, later joining a citrus concern in California. He retired in 1946 and is now living in Ontario, California. Mr. Bailey succeeded Worthen Agee as editor of the Chemists' Section of the Cotton Oil Press and was editor of the first independent Society publication, Journal of The Oil and Fats Industries.

Mr. Priest, as a physicist at the National Bureau of Standards in charge of the Colorimetry Section, directed the research that led to the standardization of Lovibond glasses. Past Presidents Barrow, Trevithick, and Hutchins supported Priest in this work and helped obtain appropriations from Congress to standardize color grading of vegetable oils.

Dr. Alsberg and Dr. Stockberger were elected at the same time, and both had outstanding scientific careers, largely associated with the U.S. Department of Agriculture. When elected to honorary membership, Dr. Alsberg was chief of the Bureau of Chemistry, succeeding Dr. Harvey Wiley of Food and Drug fame in that position. Dr. Alsberg later directed the Food Research Institute at Stanford and the Giannini Foundation at the University of California. Dr. Stockberger, after an outstanding scientific career in plant chemistry, became preeminent in the field of personnel administration. He was the first recognized authority on this subject in the federal service and was made director of U.S. Department of Agriculture personnel in 1925.

Dr. Browne was one of the most famous chemists ever to work for the government. His fame however rested not on oil but on sugar chemistry, where a majority of his hundreds of papers are to be found. Not only as a chemist but as a scientist of broad culture, he made important contributions to the history of agricultural chemistry.

Such are the honorary members of our Society. Past and present—all have made and are making important contributions, not only to the Society but also to science as a whole. It is a source of pride and inspiration to the many present members of the Society in the Regional Research Laboratories that of the nine honorary members, five have been connected with the Bureau of Chemistry of the U.S. Department of Agriculture or its successor, the Bureau of Agricultural and Industrial Chemistry. The require nents for election to honorary membership, as first given in the constitution published in the Chemists' Section of the Cotton Oil Press of July 1920, are essentially those found in our present constitution adopted in 1948. Under these provisions the Society has honored this select group with honor and benefit to all of us.

REID T. MILNER.